Different types of standards in the plywood industry


Furniture is one of the essential apart of our houses. It helps decorate them, but it also provides functionality for storage, sitting, etc. When we buy a furniture piece, we are investing in our home. That’s why it is essential to look at its quality. The quality of the furniture depends on its Plywood to a significant extent. That’s why several standards and grades are used in the plywood industries in India to determine the quality.

Understanding them helps in better decision-making for your furniture and provides great value for your money. In this blog, we will discuss the different standards of the different plywood industries in India.

Grades and standards of Plywood

There are several categories of plywood standards in the industry which are as follows;

  • A-Grade Plywood

This type of Plywood is considered the best plywood quality. Its veneers come with a flawless composition and structure with a smooth finish. It also has a vital grasping feature for the paint. Consequently, it is also the most expensive plywood standard.

  • B-grade Plywood

This plywood quality is considered mediocre. It comes with less smoothness compared to the above category. Also, it features a less strong foundation compared to the A-grade standard. Therefore, the frequency of flaws is more, and you need to repair them more often than in the above category.

  • C-grade Plywood

This type of Plywood is used for cheap commercial purposes. However, the Plywood has been remarked as the lowest quality standard because it contains knots in the sheet, around .75 inches in radius.

  • D-Grade Plywood

This is the lowest grade of the plywood standards. It is also very cheap. However, the Plywood comes with more considerable flaws along with several knots. The radius of diameters in this type of Plywood goes up to 1.5 inches. This wood also can’t be repaired quickly because of its enormous flaw proportions.

There are several other regional grades of plywood industry that are commonly used like;

  • MR Grade Plywood

The MR stands for Moisture Resistant Plywood. It comes with a certification of IS 303. However, being moisture-resistant doesn’t mean it’s waterproof. The moisture-resistant quality of the Plywood can only safeguard it against humidity and atmospheric moisture. This type of wood is quite common and is highly used in daily-purpose furniture. It founds high consumption in interior designing and other architectural applications. Therefore, it is highly commercialized in nature. The MR plywood comes with formaldehyde glue to join it quickly. However, keeping it away from the high water-prone areas is advisable.

  • BWR standard Plywood

BWR stands for boiling Waterproof Plywood. Its construction includes a phenolic glue that helps join the wood surfaces together. The joint can withstand pressure equal to a pressure cooker whistled for 5 times. It is an appropriate choice for making furniture in factories, kitchens, inventories, etc.

  • BWP

BWP stands for boiling waterproof boards. These are very similar to BWR. However, it is commonly used for blockboard grading.

  • Marine Grade Plywood

This type of Plywood is used for waterproof purposes. However, it is quite different from the MR standard plywood. It has a much stronger composition, can withstand more pressure, and shows higher water resistance. As the name suggests, it is used for aquatic and marine building purposes. It is used for building ships, boats, water boards, surfing boards, etc. It uses concentrated phenolic resins, which provide solid joints. They have suitable quality veneers. That’s why these are used for manufacturing and home furniture. It is also used for preparing swimming decks because of its water-resistant quality. Crediting to its high quality, this is one of the most expensive standards of Plywood. By understanding these standards, a person can distinguish good quality plywood from mediocre Plywood. Several other certifications help in determining the quality of the plywoods.


There are several Plywood standards like MR grade, A-grade, B-grade, BWR, BWP, etc. All these provide different features, sustainability, and durability. Different standards are determined by several factors like overlappings, core gaps, nail holding capacity, weight, glue, etc. As per the furniture or product requirement, different types of plywoods are used for different purposes.

Hope now you understand about Different types of standards in the plywood industry  and for more details please check out the website


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here